Ready, Set, Potty

We are very suddenly potty training. Well, training isn’t really the word. On Sunday Jack came to me and announced that he wanted to use the potty. I pulled out the Baby Bjorn potty, pulled his pants and diaper down, and read him a book about peeing and pooping while he did both on the potty. It was surprisingly easy. We clapped and were proud!

Monday night the same thing happened, so yesterday I sent Jack to daycare armed with pull-ups training pants. He used the potty five times! I had only one item to put in the laundry yesterday and that was a pair of cloth training pants. Yay! Last night he did not want to use the potty, but this morning at daycare he couldn’t take his eyes off the potty. Funny kid.

I am amused by this turn of events. Mostly I think it’s interesting that I didn’t have to do much at all – that Jack told me when he was ready to use the potty. I love it when things just fall into place like this; I’m a huge fan of parenting along the path of least resistance!

2 Responses to “Ready, Set, Potty”


  1. 1 Zen Mama July 15, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Hooray! That’s the BEST way to do things! Way to go Jack!

  2. 2 daniella July 15, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    You’ve just given me hope and promised that joy comes in the morning. Maybe not tomorrow morning, but sometime in the next year for sure.

    Did I tell you that my pediatrician blamed Charlie’s terrible bowel movement probs on me? Yes, she said I started potty training too early, and that’s why she only poops once a week. I told her that I never pressured her or made her feel negative. She said it doesn’t matter. Ouch. I felt like the best mother on earth.


Leave a Reply

What Jack’s Saying

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

RSS Shared From Google Reader

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

IMG_1863

IMG_1875

IMG_1874

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

